Top 5 Wednesday: Tribute to Childhood Book Moms

Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday

My second Top 5 Wednesday topics from the Goodreads group. I’ve seen and joined that Goodreads group for some time now. The topics in April looked pretty good. I really liked this topic. And since I already liked to make lists, these 5 every week shouldn’t be too difficult for me. Maybe..

A Tribute to My Childhood Book Moms

💗💗💗💗

Mrs Dashwood of Jane Austen

Mrs. Dashwood in Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen. She was my first Jane Austen book mother and still my favorite. And I loved the actress that played her in the 1995 movie (my review to the movie/ book).

“I do not believe,” said Mrs. Dashwood, with a good humoured smile, “that Mr. Willoughby will be incommoded by the attempts of either of MY daughters towards what you call CATCHING him. It is not an employment to which they have been brought up. Men are very safe with us, let them be ever so rich.”


💗💗💗💗

Ramona and Her Mother by Beverly Cleary

Mrs. Quimby from Ramona and Her Mother by Beverly Cleary (and all the other Romana books in the series). That dear pest Ramona. I loved this series. (My review).

“All her life she had wanted to squeeze the toothpaste really squeeze it,not just one little squirt…The paste coiled and swirled and mounded in the washbasin. Ramona decorated the mound with toothpaste roses as if it was a toothpaste birthday cake”


💗💗💗💗

Alice Wakefield from the Sweet Valley High (and Saga and Twins) series by Francine Pascal. To put up with the twin’s drama, Alice deserves a medal.


💗💗💗💗

Kanga from Winnie the Pooh by A. A. Milne. Kanga was more than a mother to Roo, she also cared for the other animals in the Hundred Acre Woods. (My review).


💗💗💗💗

Judy Blume & Ann M. Martin. I’m going to cheat and just use these two authors, because (aling with Beverly Cleary) they just seemed to understand the kids and teenagers. Well, at least for those that grew up in the 1980s.


Who are your favorite Book Moms?

This entry was posted in Best Of, Books, Classic, Favorites, Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

