Books · TBR · Tuesdays

TBR Tuesday 

TBR

TBR Tuesday

Here’s the first TBR Tuesday for May.  Oh I hope May will be a easier reading month than it has been for me these past few months.

I’ve still been working on re-reading book 1 times the Harry Potter series and First Frost by Sarah Addison Allen. I am about halfway through with both books, so you of course I’m already looking forward to reading some other books. Here’s those books I’m looking to read next (besides Frozen for my niece):

The Martian by Andy Weir

The Martian by Andy Weir

The Martian Andy Weir

A Thriller, Suspense and Science Fiction novel (and movie).

My mom and I will be reading this together, like a sort of book club, so this is our Book of the Month. We haven’t watched the movie yet and I know I’ll be imaging Matt Damon while reading this.

IMDb Synopsis: During a manned mission to Mars, Astronaut Mark Watney is presumed dead after a fierce storm and left behind by his crew. But Watney has survived and finds himself stranded and alone on the hostile planet. With only meager supplies, he must draw upon his ingenuity, wit and spirit to subsist and find a way to signal to Earth that he is alive.

First Line: “I’m pretty much fucked.”

Matt Damon as The Martian by Andy Weir

And

Flying By the Seat of My Knickers by Eliza Watson

Flying By the Seat of My Knickers by Eliza Watson

Contemporary Fiction

I received this book for n ARC by the author and YA Bound Book Tours. The plot sounds good and am looking forward to reading this. But now I have to also prepare myself for possible cliffhangers because I found out that this is book 1 of The Travel Mishaps of Caity Shaw. But the setting is in Ireland so hopefully it will be good.

Goodreads Synopsis: Why run from your troubles when you can fly instead?
When Caity Shaw is fired from her first job that doesn’t require an elf uniform, her older sister, Rachel, an event planner, hires her to work a meeting in Dublin. Caity jumps at the opportunity to travel abroad and escape her pathetic life. However, even four thousand miles from home, there’s no avoiding debt collectors, an overbearing mother, and haunting memories of a controlling ex.
While in Dublin, Caity suffers a series of humiliating mishaps, causing her to lose even more faith in herself. Caity struggles to earn Rachel’s respect—and to keep Declan, her hot Irish coworker, at arm’s length. Declan repeatedly saves Caity’s butt and helps boost her self-confidence, making it difficult to keep her distance from the charming womanizer. When Declan helps her research her Irish grandmother, Caity discovers the mysterious past of the courageous woman she barely knew might hold the answers to her future.

Flying By the Seat of My Knickers by Eliza Watson

First Line: “You want me to dress up like a piece of meat?” I glared at the foam costume, a bratwurst in a bun, covered with felt.

TBR Tuesday May 3

3 thoughts on “TBR Tuesday 

Leave a Reply

