Books · TBR · Tuesdays

TBR Tuesday May 31st

TBR

TBR Tuesday

So I think I’m just about out of this reading slump here. So I can finally look forward to these TBR Tuesday posts without feeling like I’m posting the same books each week.

I’ll be posting my May Wrap Up and June Preview posts soon!Β I did read 3 books this month so I’m really happy about that. But in the meantime, here’s something to ponder…

Reading Uncle Fester Adams Family

What in the world am I going to read next?!?!!

I’ve been in such a great reading mood lately and I’m a somewhat afraid that my next To-Be-Read book will send me back into the dreaded reading slump. Gahhhh!!!

Snap out of it Moonstruck

So what do you do when you think that you’re finally out of a reading slump?

I started rereading the Harry Potter series to get myself out of that funk. It’s worked. I finished Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone within a good reading time so that helped out a lot. No matter how many times I reread this series it’s still delightful and fun to read every time.

The Martian by Andy Weir

And The Martian by Andy Weir was so suspenseful that I read it within about a week! Ya me! My mom and I are looking forward to watching the movie this weekend when it airs on HBO.

And then came the ARC book that I was supposed to review by the end of this month – Flying by the Seat of my Knickers by Eliza Watson. Well I’ll write the review sometime this week. Hopefully. I do love free stuff, I mean who wouldn’t, right? So I will write the review soon. Anyway, it was under 200 pages and yet it took me almost all this month to read it because of my reading slump.

Now the dreaded question: What’s next?

Kindle Books TBR

Gah. Really? Well it’s a good thing that I have plenty of library books to help out. Oh right. I went to the library last week and got a heavy haul of library books. Plus there’s the Overdrive.com library books on my kindle.

And then there’s rereading the second book in the Harry Potter series, Chamber of Secrets... But after watching the movie twice this week, I’m not so sure I want to start rereading it this week. So maybe next week. Hmm maybe I shouldn’t have watched that movie before starting the reread. Maybe if I watch a bunch of other movies it will help.

And then… Yes another TBR book here. There’s a Jane Eyre Read-Along that started on Saturday, which I still haven’t started or checked up on with the blogger hosting the read-along. But the host did say to expect this to last throughout the summer, so I’m not stressing here. No worries. Plus it’s one of those books that I’m not sure if I’ve already read or not.

So what do you do when you’re out of a reading funk?

19 thoughts on “TBR Tuesday May 31st

  1. I always find that when I can’t choose what to read I grab a few potential books and I eeny meeny miny mo them. I will want to read one of the books more than the rest and if I don’t get it then I’m unhappy so it becomes clear that I want to read that one. If I am happy then I know it is the one I wanted to read all along. I don’t know why this works for me but it does πŸ™‚ Happy reading x x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I hate being in a reading slump (especially that I have hundreds of books on my to read list). What I usually do is I start reading book samples of books that I might want to read. If I get bored I move to the next. The one that compels me to buy is the one I continue with… Unless some magical recommendation comes along that hooks me from the start πŸ™‚ …

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ohh but then I feel guilty for reading those two chapters.. well for the books that I already bought so that I could read them. It’s a bit of a thing for me to start a book and then pause at 15% or two chapters just to start reading something else. lol

      Liked by 1 person

  3. It sounds weird, but when I’m in a reading slump I binge watch something that’s not too long/doesn’t have too many seasons. By the time I finish that show, I’m ready to read again. I just find that forcing myself to try and get in to something doesn’t help at all. I hope you find your way out of your slump!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. If I’m struggling with reading I go to a favourite author I know I’m going to enjoy, something light and fun. I bought my son The Martian book for xmas he’s still not read it, must encourage him.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Reading slumps are the worst! i’ve just currently overcome a reading slump and am so glad! I don’t know what I would do without reading!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

