Books · Classic · Favorites · Holidays · movie · Old Reviews

A Christmas Carol

christmascarol

Read December 2013.
A Christmas Carol (1843) by Charles Dickens 5★♥

A Christmas Carol has been a book I’ve been trying to read for the past few Christmases. I’d start it, but then never finished it. Third times was a charm. I’ve finally finished it and am glad I read it. It was a good read and now a favorite.

“For it is good to be children sometimes, and never better than at Christmas, when its mighty Founder was a child Himself.”

I really liked Charles Dickens’s “Ghost of an Idea.” I’ve watched many different movies that have some form of this story. I liked reading this just as much as watching one of the movie adaptions. This was my first Dickens book that I’ve read. His writing style in this was poetic I thought. The story is short and broken off in Staves. I think my favorite part was the description of Christmas Day activity during Stave Three: The Second of Three Spirits.

I’ll definitely be rereading this in the future and will try to read some of Dickens’s other books too.

Leave a comment