A Christmas Carol

christmascarol

Read December 2013.
A Christmas Carol (1843) by Charles Dickens 5★♥

A Christmas Carol has been a book I’ve been trying to read for the past few Christmases. I’d start it, but then never finished it. Third times was a charm. I’ve finally finished it and am glad I read it. It was a good read and now a favorite.

“For it is good to be children sometimes, and never better than at Christmas, when its mighty Founder was a child Himself.”

I really liked Charles Dickens’s “Ghost of an Idea.” I’ve watched many different movies that have some form of this story. I liked reading this just as much as watching one of the movie adaptions. This was my first Dickens book that I’ve read. His writing style in this was poetic I thought. The story is short and broken off in Staves. I think my favorite part was the description of Christmas Day activity during Stave Three: The Second of Three Spirits.

I’ll definitely be rereading this in the future and will try to read some of Dickens’s other books too.

This entry was posted in Books, Classic, Favorites, Holidays, movie, Old Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

