Favorites · Hunger Games · movie · Star Wars · Wednesday

Wazzup Wednesdays – March 23

wazzup

Wazzup Wednesdays

This Wednesday weekly theme of mine is my way of giving a shout-out to all the things I’ve found interesting in the past week.

Wazzup Mockingjay?

HG Mockingjay Part 2

I went to the dollar store and Target to do some Easter gift shopping. I bought a lot of good stuff for a dollar and I’m not talking about the cheap ridiculous stuff. I found some Troll Dolls, kid’s cookbooks (granted they’re paper booklets) and my mom bought some Hacky Sacks for 2 bucks.

Hunger Games

What I really was looking towards getting when my mom and I went to Target was the Mockingjay Part 2 movie. Target had the pick between the dvds or Blu-Rays of course, they also had the special collection of the 4 movies (dvd had 8 disks and the Blu-Ray has 6). Lets see, I already have the 2 disk dvd for the Hunger Games Movie. And I have just the one dvd for Catching Fire and Mockingjay Part 1. I think I’ll donate those single dvds and buy Catching Fire and Mocking Jay part 1 on blu-ray from Amazon because they’re on sale right now.

HG Mockingjay part 2

I love my new copy of The Mockingjay Part 2! Gramps and I are watching part 1 right now. We’ll probably watch Part 2 tomorrow and then I’ll review these two movies.

Speaking of Movies and Blu-Rays

Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Star Wars The Force Awakens

Star Wars: The Force Awakens is available for pre-order on Amazon. The Blu-Ray is $19.99 and I’m so tempted to buy that now. It’s release date is April 5th (the movie streaming with the bonuses is available on April 1st). I loved the movie and am really tempted in pre-ordering this Blu-Ray!!!

Let us see what’s in store for this Blu-Ray pre-order shall we…

  • 3 blu-ray disks (including the dvd)
  • the typical languages for the audio and subtitles
  • digital copy available to download (but I hardly ever use that anymore)

That’s all Amazon is offering in describing what is all going to be on this disk. I really wish they told us more but this is Star Wars so I’ll forgive them. I would like to have some surprises when it comes to these movies.


Wazzup Oldie Superheroes?

TCM From Comics to Film

TCM is airing the old 1940’s Silver Screen shows of the superheroes like Batman, Superman, The Phantom, The Atom Man, The Green Hornet, Flash Gordon, Ace Drummond, Dick Tracy and Buck Rogers. They’re calling tonight From Comics to Film. These are not the superheroes that we are familiar with now. In fact, Batman’s cave was called the Bat’s Cave in these old films. My Gramps would tell you that they did not have televisions back in the 1940s and that Superman was the most popular superhero on the Radio shows. He remembers a lot of the superheroes from the comic books and the Radio. At the beginning of Batman’s fist chapter “The Electricial Brain” it shows how it’s based on the Detective Comics and Batman radio series. Did you catch that? Detective Comics is DC comics.


Wazzup SeaWorld?

LA Times SeaWorld

In an article in L.A.Times Friday newspaper (my Gramps subscribes to them), there is a big article on the front page about how SeaWorld Company has announced that they will no longer breed their Killer Whales, and they will also end the whales “Theatrical Shows.” They have said that they will be keeping the 29 orcas for the duration of their lives and that they will only be put on display. The SeaWorld Company has said that they will make these changes in 2019 at their San Diego and Orlando parks though. The article said that for decades the SeaWorld co. has been suffering from a lot of criticism, with the 2013 documentary “Blackfish” being one of the biggest ones.

And speaking of Aquariums…

LA Times Aquarium of the Pacific

Today there’s a small article in the L.A. Times paper about Long Beach, California’s Aquarium of the Pacific. They plan to do a $53-million expansion by 2018: with a new wing, a theater, and an art gallery. Their calling it their new “Pacific Visions Wing.” I went to this aquarium last year with my sisters and their kids. My nieces and nephew love it! There is two sections where the kids can try to touch jelly fishes and sting rays. I like the fact that they’ve made these booklets with information about each of the sea life in the aquarium and they have these press stamps that you stamp into the booklet to show that you’ve seen those exhibits. There is already so many things for them to do there, so I’m curious what this expansion will bring.

3 thoughts on “Wazzup Wednesdays – March 23

    1. Yes and now SeaWorld has commercials where they try to explain why they aren’t releasing the whales. Have you seen the commercials? I’m just curious why they’re waiting until 2019.

      Like

Leave a Reply

