Best Of · Books · Don't Panic · Favorites · Harry Potter · Hunger Games · Star Wars

Best of 2014 Books

books3xeqbtiju_bestof2014

These are the top books that I read and liked in 2014.

23302416  #01. Wonder by R. J. Palacio. A great insprational story and one that I was recommending to a lot after I read it. And I still recommend it. Along with Palacio’s novellas that are apart of this lovely story.

#02. A Cat was Involved by Spencer Quinn. I love this dog. So funny. And I’m not much of a mystery genre fan, but this, I can totally get into.
#03. William Shakespeare’s Star Wars by Ian Doescher. Best satire ever!
#04. The Night Watch by Sergei Lukyanenko. A Russian Paranormal fiction that I really liked. Can’t wait to read the rest of the series and hopefully some more by this author (of course translated though). I found out about this book series only because I found the 2 movies while browsing through some of iTune’s movies way back when. And I really liked the movies too.
#05. Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman. Why have I waited so long in reading Neil Gaiman’s books?! I loved this. I had gotten the dramatized audio first and loved it. Of course I read the book before listening to the audio. And I highly recommend both the book and the radio dramatized audio (great mix of cast).

#06. The Peach Keeper by Sarah Addison Allen. Really enjoyed this. Felt a little like Practical Magic (love the book and movie) in a way too, but a lot more realistic.
#07. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams. Such a great series so far. Really recommend the audio book with Stephen Fry.
#08. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline. I’m counting down for when the movie is made (2016 hopefully).
#09. The Ghost Bride by Yangsze Choo. Reminded me of a Tim Burton film almost. Yangsze really did a great job with this story. I loved it!
#10. Nutcracker and Mouse King by E. T. A. Hoffmann. Love the ballet performances. I watch them every Christmas. So I thought I might as well go and read the book that the story is based off of. Some new things to the story and I loved it.

#11. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J. K. Rowling. Best Rereads of 2014. And still a favorite and a tear jerker too.
#12. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J. K. Rowling (reread w/ kindle & iTunes)
#13. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins (reread kindle w/ audio from library)
#14. Suzanne’s Diary for Nicholas by James Patterson (still a favorite and a tear jerker too)
#15. Austenland by Shannon Hale (reread kindle w/ audio from library. And loved the movie too)
#16. Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen (reread kindle w/ audio iTunes)

One thought on “Best of 2014 Books

Leave a comment