Music · Throwback Thursday

Throwback 90s Music

tbt throwback thursday cassette

My Throwback 90s Music Soundtrack

Making this list was really hard to do. The struggle was hard! I couldn’t limit myself to just 10 songs like my other soundtracks, but at least I didn’t exceed 15. I’m a Gen X gal and thinking up this list brought back a lot of nostalgia.


“Hunger Strike” by Temple of the Dog
Soundgaurdern and Pearl Jam together. Bliss.


“Connection” by Elastica
Saw them in a small gig concert before they became big.


“What’s Up?” by 4 Non Blondes
Before Alanis Morissette belted out “You Oughtta Know” there was this all girls band. My middle sister was playing the guitar and piano really well at that time too. She could play this song pretty good. Plus it always got stuck in my head after she played it. Oh Oooooh Ooooh I said Hey… What’s going on?


“What a Man” Salt n Pepa
The true Rap Sistas! Much Respect.


“Linger” The Cranberries
Love this band still. Think I first recognized them when I saw the movie Empire Records.


“Live Forever” by Oasis
My other Brit band that I really liked besides The Beatles.


“One Headlight” by The Wallflowers
Seriously was in love with Jakob Dylan. Those eyes!!


Because of Tori Amos, and the first concert I went to.

“Hey Jupiter” by Tori Amos


“The World is Not Enough” by Garbage
Favorite band and James Bond.


Because of the radio station, KROQ 106.7

“I’m Just a Girl” by No Doubt

KROQ over played this song! Radio killed the Radio Star.


“St. Theresa” by Joan Osborne (wasn’t a fan of her “What if God was one of us”)
Because I was a Karaoke Queen with this song.


Because of Lilith Fair

“Water is Wide” by Indigo Girls, Jewel and Sarah McLaughlin
. Love all these performers and this song is great.


“The Man Who Sold the World” by Nirvana (Mtv Unplugged edition because I love this song the most).
Because of MTV and my sister, who was a Grung Chick before Grunge was cool.


“It’s oh so Quiet” by Björk
Because of MTV. Björk has such awesome videos and I was really in awe with this one when I first saw it on MTV.


Because of the Movies:

Singles (1992) A Cameron Crow movie starring the greats Pearl, Mother Love Born, and Chris Cornell. Plus it’s soundtrack is awesome.

“Chloe Dancer / Crown Of Thorns” by Mother Love Born


Well that’s all before I get carried away with this music. Seriously so much nostalgia here. And I really didn’t want to take some of the songs off this list, so that’s why this is so long.

Who’s your favorite 90’s band?

3 thoughts on “Throwback 90s Music

Leave a comment