2016 Reviews · Classic · Favorites · movie · Old Reviews · Throwback Thursday

Throwback Thursday Reviews May 5th

tbt Throwback Thursday movies

Throwback Thursday Reviews

Another Thursday meme of mine so that I can post some Old Reviews.

Girl Scout Sleepover Double Feature Movies

I’m not sure what year at was exactly, sometime during the late 1980s I think. My sister and was apart of the Girl Scouts in elementary school and our group adult leader was a little strange. We had our first sleepover at that time too. The adult let her kid pick out one of the movies, A Nightmare in Elm Street.  The other movie was not much better of a pick for 8 year olds and older (I was the older). The leader picked The Three Amigos (my favorite quotes and some YouTube video favorites bellow because I rewatched this today).

I suppose after watching a horror movie, the comedy was much needed, well mostly for me. While everyone was watching A Nightmare on Elm Street, I was hiding behind the couches because I was so scared. That movie gave me nightmares for weeks after this. This scene still gives me the creeps:

Needless to say that this was our last sleepover or any event with that adult (still can’t recall the family’s name). They remained our friends for a few years up until high school when attitudes change and teen angst is #1 priority.

Because it’s Cinco de Mayo today, I’m going to be rewatching The Three Amigos. Here’s some of my favorite quotes and scenes:

¡Three Amigos! (1986)

¡Three Amigos!

PG / 1h 44min / Comedy, Western
Starring: Steve Martin, Chevy Chase, Martin Short

IMDb Synopsis: Three actors accept an invitation to a Mexican village to perform their onscreen bandit fighter roles, unaware that it is the real thing.

Quotes

Lucky Day: Reading telegram: “Three Amigos, Hollywood, California. You are very great. 100,000 pesos. Come to Santa Poco put on show, stop. The In-famous El Guapo.”
Dusty Bottoms: What does that mean, in-famous?
Ned Nederlander: Oh, Dusty. In-famous is when you’re MORE than famous. This man El Guapo, he’s not just famous, he’s IN-famous.
Lucky Day: 100,000 pesos to perform with this El Guapo, who’s probably the biggest actor to come out of Mexico!
Dusty Bottoms: Wow, in-famous? In-famous?

Bartender: “We don’t have beer. Just tequila.”
Ned Nederlander: “What’s tequila?”
Bartender: “Uh, it’s like beer.”

Dusty Bottoms: Time for plan B. Plan A was to break into El Guapo’s fortress.
Carmen: And that you have done, now what?
Dusty Bottoms: Well we really dont have a plan B. We didn’t expect for the first plan to work. Sometimes you can overplan these things.

And the best part of the movie I thought:

Lucky Day: I’m Lucky Day!
Ned Nederlander: I’m Ned Nederlander!
Dusty Bottoms: And I’m Dusty Bottoms! And together we are…
Lucky Day, Ned Nederlander, Dusty Bottoms: The Three Amigos!
[each does the Amigo salute]

And because these Amigos are just a bunch of idjits!

Lucky: [Lucky returning to group, now realizing that el Guapo and his gang, are real outlaws] It’s real.
Dusty: What?
Lucky: This is real.
Ned: You mean…
Lucky: Yes, they are going… to kill us.
[Amigos begin sobbing pathetically]
Ned: [Sobbing] What am I doing in Mexico.
Lucky: [Sobbing] I’ve been shot already.
Ned: [Sobbing] I know.
Dusty: [Sobbing] What are we gonna do?
Ned: [Sobbing] We’re not gonna get PAID, that’s for sure.

And so happy Cinco De Mayo everyone. Cheers.

And because this all started because of a giff I saw thanks to Den of Geek US on Facebook. Here’s my  tequila favorite…

Tequila Jose Quervo

What’s yours? And have you seen either of these films? Which is your favorite?

2 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday Reviews May 5th

Leave a Reply

